Two gay candidates qualify for Metro Council race

Nashville may soon have its first openly gay council representative. Two openly gay men have qualified to appear on the ballot for Metro Council for the August 2 election, with one of them running unopposed.

Keith Durbin, an openly gay man in the Hillsboro Village-Belmont area  (Council District 18) will run unopposed (unless a write-in candidate name appears) for the seat being vacated by incumbent Ginger Hausser Pepper, who is term-limited from seeking a third term. Shane Burkett, an openly gay man in Hermitage, will face incumbent Jim Gotto for the Council District 12 seat (see related story on Burkett here).

Should either (or both) win their races, Durbin and Burkett will make Tennessee history as the first publically elected out public official. According to the Gay & Lesbian Victory Fund, there are 440 individuals who are “out” that have been appointed or elected to public office. Tennessee is one of five states that does not have an “out” elected official. Durbin has been endorsed by the Victory Fund. Burkett has submitted his application is awaiting a decision.

Durbin is well-known in his district. He has served as president of the Belmont-Hillsboro Neighbors for five years and is positing himself as a strong voice for neighborhood interests. Durbin works for HCA Information and Technology services. His partner of 12 years is Gary Bynum, who is vice president of human resources for Homeland Security Corporation.

In addition to the council races, voters will also elect a new mayor, vice-mayor, and school board member in the election. Early voting will begin in July. Candidates have until Noon, Thursday, May 24, to withdraw from the race so their name doesn’t appear on the ballot.

Candidates and the races are listed below. Incumbents are in italics.

Mayoral Candidates

David Briley
Bob Clement
Karl Dean
Buck Dozier
Kenneth Eaton
Howard Gentry
Cheryl Tisdale

Vice-Mayoral Candidates

Diane Neighbors
Linda W. Perry
Carolyn Tucker

School Board District 3 Candidates

Mark North

Council-at-Large Candidates

Brady Banks
Megan Barry
Luther Beckett
Kenneth Berryhill
Jim Boyd
Luvenia Butler
Jonathan Davidson
Richard Exton
Tim Garrett
Ronnie Greer
Saletta Holloway
Philip Hostettler
Michael Kerstetter
J.B. Loring
James A. Maxwell
Jerry Maynard
Steve McClure
J. Gower Mills
Dave Pelton
Steve Reiter
Tony Roberts
Ronnie Steine
James Turner II
Charlie Tygard
Maurice Walker
Peter Westerholm

Council District 1 Candidates

Ken Jakes
William D. Mason Jr.
Lonnell Matthews
Andre' Southall
Felicia Wilson

Council District 2 Candidates

Terry Clayton
Frank Harrison
Jamie D. Isabel Sr.

Council District 3 Candidates


Council District 4 Candidates

Michael Craddock
Freda B. Evans

Council District 5 Candidates

Samuel Mc Cullough,
Pam Murray

Council District 6 Candidates

Mike Jameson

Council District 7 Candidates

Erik Cole

Council District 8 Candidates

Karen Bennett
Albert G. Berry
Rod Boehm
Jason Hart
Randy Reed

Council District 9 Candidates

Jim Forkum

Council District 10 Candidates

Rip Ryman

Council District 11 Candidates

Johnny Ellis
Darren Jernigan
Ricky Mc Clintock

Council District 12 Candidates

Shane Burkett
Jim Gotto

Council District 13 Candidates

Carl Burch
Tony Derryberry

Council District 14 Candidates

Bruce Stanley
Harold White

Council District 15 Candidates

Phillip Claiborne
Gary Howell
Larry Keeton

Council District 16 Candidates

Jerry Austin
Charles O. French
Tony Tenpenny
Karen Van Dyke

Council District 17 Candidates

Cordenus Eddings
Chris Lugo
Sandra V. Moore
Cynthia Owsley
Frank Stevenson
Rossi Turner
Gregory E. Wood

Council District 18 Candidates

Keith Durbin

Council District 19 Candidates

Janice A. Davis

Erica Gilmore
Keith A. Pitts
Freda Player
David Shaw

Council District 20 Candidates

James Baker
Brenda Inglis
Lillian E. Pharris
Billy Walls

Council District 21 Candidates

Edith Taylor Langster
Harold M. Love
“Ronnie" Simmons

Council District 22 Candidates

Eric Crafton

Council District 23 Candidates

Craig Andreen
Emily Evans

Council District 24 Candidates

Katherine Beasley
Jason Holleman
Gary Pennington
Irwin Venick

Council District 25 Candidates

Sean P. Mc Guire

Council District 26 Candidates

Greg Adkins

Council District 27 Candidates

Randy Foster

Council District 28 Candidates

Duane Dominy
Jacobia Dowell

Council District 29 Candidates

Paul V. Jr. Collins
Vivian Wilhoite

Council District 30 Candidates

Jim Hodge

Council District 31 Candidates

Fabian Bedne
Parker Toler

Council District 32 Candidates


Council District 33 Candidates

Albert Bender
Page Turner

Council District 34 Candidates

Lisa Pote
Carter Todd

Council District 35 Candidates

Donald W. Johnson
Bo Mitchell

Photo courtesy of Jose Cuervo

2023 Reserva de la Familia Limited Edition Terceerunquinto

On January 10, 2023, Reserva de la Familia, Jose Cuervo’s ultra-premium collection of artisanal small-batch tequilas and Mexico’s crown jewel, announced its 2023 collector’s box, designed by artists Rolando Flores and Gabriel Cázares of the Mexico-based Tercerunquinto Collective. The piece of custom art, titled “Structuring a Landscape”, features a geometric abstraction of the landscape of Tequila, Mexico and will adorn the 2023 limited-release collector’s box of Reserva de la Familia Extra Añejo.

Since 1995, Jose Cuervo has worked with internationally recognized artists with roots in Mexico to design the box artwork for Reserva de la Familia Extra Añejo. Each box is an authentic collector’s item, with a limited quantity produced annually before a new artist is chosen. Previous artists include Gonzalo Lebrija, Pedro Friedeberg, Carlos Aguirre, Ricardo Pinto and many more. Every artist is selected by a team of art curators including 11th generation Cuervo family member and CEO of Jose Cuervo, Juan Domingo Beckmann, Executive Director of El Museo del Barrio in New York City, Patrick Charpenel and founder of Zona Maco, Mexico’s number one art fair, Zélika García.

Keep reading Show less
Photo courtesy of Velvet Ibiza

Velvet Ibiza

Every year, Ibiza is home to Europe’s very epic queer woman’s party, Velvet Ibiza, which is celebrating its 7th anniversary and promises to be next level. Velvet Ibiza is an all-inclusive 5-day and 5-night party and includes transportation from the airport, a bungalow, 3 meals, and activities and parties day and night, and drinks until around 10:30 pm.

This year, international crowds of LGBTQ+ women will be attending Velvet Ibiza on May 2 - 7 to celebrate life, belonging, and freedom. Event organizers have rented an entire resort in order to build a community vibe and allow queer women to connect so there’s no reason to go anywhere unless of course, you want to go shopping, head to the beach, or explore the island.

Keep reading Show less

Financial Planning for the LGBTQ+ community

The new year has arrived. For many people, that means making resolutions and thinking of ways they can do better in the coming year and beyond. Money management and financial planning are often very popular resolutions and goals, but most financial advice tends to be aimed at heterosexual couples who want to grow their family and raise children.

But, what if your life goals are different? What if you don’t receive the same protection under the current laws as hetero couples?
What if you don’t want to have kids?

Keep reading Show less