The 85th Academy Awards, will be presented on Sunday, Feb. 24, at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center, and will be televised live on ABC and in more than 225 countries worldwide.

Best Picture

  • "Amour": Nominees to be determined
  • "Argo": Grant Heslov, Ben Affleck and George Clooney, Producers
  • "Beasts of the Southern Wild": Dan Janvey, Josh Penn and Michael Gottwald, Producers
  • "Django Unchained": Stacey Sher, Reginald Hudlin and Pilar Savone, Producers
  • "Les Misérables": Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Debra Hayward and Cameron Mackintosh, Producers
  • "Life of Pi": Gil Netter, Ang Lee and David Womark, Producers
  • "Lincoln": Steven Spielberg and Kathleen Kennedy, Producers
  • "Silver Linings Playbook": Donna Gigliotti, Bruce Cohen and Jonathan Gordon, Producers
  • "Zero Dark Thirty": Mark Boal, Kathryn Bigelow and Megan Ellison, Producers

Best Director

  • Ang Lee, "Life of Pi"
  • Michael Haneke, "Amour"
  • David O. Russell, "Silver Linings Playbook"
  • Steven Spielberg, "Lincoln"
  • Benh Zeitlin, "Beasts of the Southern Wild"

Best Actor in a Leading Role

  • Bradley Cooper, "Silver Linings Playbook"
  • Daniel Day-Lewis, "Lincoln"
  • Hugh Jackman, "Les Misérables"
  • Joaquin Phoenix, "The Master"
  • Denzel Washington, "Flight"

Best Actress in a Leading Role

  • Jessica Chastain, "Zero Dark Thirty"
  • Jennifer Lawrence, "Silver Linings Playbook"
  • Emmanuelle Riva, "Amour"
  • Quvenzhané Wallis, "Beasts of the Southern Wild"
  • Naomi Watts, "The Impossible"

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

  • Alan Arkin, "Argo"
  • Robert De Niro, "Silver Linings Playbook"
  • Philip Seymour Hoffman, "The Master"
  • Leonardo DiCaprio, "Django Unchained"
  • Tommy Lee Jones, "Lincoln"
  • Christoph Waltz, "Django Unchained"

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

  • Amy Adams, "The Master"
  • Sally Field, "Lincoln"
  • Anne Hathaway, "Les Misérables"
  • Helen Hunt, "The Sessions"
  • Jacki Weaver, "Silver Linings Playbook"

Best Writing — Adapted Screenplay

  • "Argo": Screenplay by Chris Terrio
  • "Beasts of the Southern Wild": Screenplay by Lucy Alibar & Benh Zeitlin
  • "Life of Pi": Screenplay by David Magee
  • "Lincoln": Screenplay by Tony Kushner
  • "Silver Linings Playbook": Screenplay by David O. Russell

Best Writing — Original Screenplay

  • "Amour": Written by Michael Haneke
  • "Django Unchained": Written by Quentin Tarantino
  • "Flight": Written by John Gatins
  • "Moonrise Kingdom": Written by Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola
  • "Zero Dark Thirty": Written by Mark Boal

Best Animated Feature Film

  • "Brave": Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman
  • "Frankenweenie": Tim Burton
  • "ParaNorman": Sam Fell and Chris Butler
  • "The Pirates! Band of Misfits": Peter Lord
  • "Wreck-It Ralph": Rich Moore

Best Cinematography

  • "Anna Karenina": Seamus McGarvey
  • "Django Unchained": Robert Richardson
  • "Life of Pi": Claudio Miranda
  • "Lincoln": Janusz Kaminski
  • "Skyfall": Roger Deakins

Best Costume Design

  • "Anna Karenina" Jacqueline Durran
  • "Les Misérables" Paco Delgado
  • "Lincoln" Joanna Johnston
  • "Mirror Mirror" Eiko Ishioka
  • "Snow White and the Huntsman" Colleen Atwood

Best Documentary — Feature

  • "5 Broken Cameras"
  • "The Gatekeepers"
  • "How to Survive a Plague"
  • "The Invisible War"
  • "Searching for Sugar Man"

Best Documentary — Short Subject

  • "Inocente": Sean Fine and Andrea Nix Fine
  • "Kings Point": Sari Gilman and Jedd Wider
  • "Mondays at Racine": Cynthia Wade and Robin Honan
  • "Open Heart": Kief Davidson and Cori Shepherd Stern
  • "Redemption": Jon Alpert and Matthew O'Neill

Best Film Editing

  • "Argo": William Goldenberg
  • "Life of Pi": Tim Squyres
  • "Lincoln": Michael Kahn
  • "Silver Linings Playbook": Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers
  • "Zero Dark Thirty": Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg

Best Foreign Language Film

  • Austria, "Amour," Michael Haneke, director
  • Canada, "War Witch," Kim Nguyen, director
  • Chile, "No," Pablo Larraín, director
  • Denmark, "A Royal Affair," Nikolaj Arcel, director
  • Norway, "Kon-Tiki," Joachim Rønning and Espen Sandberg, directors

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

  • "Hitchcock": Howard Berger, Peter Montagna and Martin Samuel
  • "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey": Peter Swords King, Rick Findlater and Tami Lane
  • "Les Misérables": Lisa Westcott and Julie Dartnell

Best Music — Original Score

  • "Anna Karenina": Dario Marianelli
  • "Argo": Alexandre Desplat
  • "Life of Pi": Mychael Danna
  • "Lincoln": John Williams
  • "Skyfall": Thomas Newman

Best Music — Original Song

  • "Before My Time" from "Chasing Ice": Music and Lyric by J. Ralph
  • "Everybody Needs A Best Friend" from "Ted": Music by Walter Murphy; Lyric by Seth MacFarlane
  • "Pi's Lullaby" from "Life of Pi": Music by Mychael Danna; Lyric by Bombay Jayashri
  • "Skyfall" from "Skyfall": Music and Lyric by Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth
  • "Suddenly" from "Les Misérables": Music by Claude-Michel Schönberg; Lyric by Herbert Kretzmer and Alain Boublil

Best Production Design (formerly Art Direction)

  • "Anna Karenina": Production Design: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer
  • "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey": Production Design: Dan Hennah; Set Decoration: Ra Vincent and Simon Bright
  • "Les Misérables": Production Design: Eve Stewart; Set Decoration: Anna Lynch-Robinson
  • "Life of Pi": Production Design: David Gropman; Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock
  • "Lincoln": Production Design: Rick Carter; Set Decoration: Jim Erickson

Best Short Film — Animated

  • "Adam and Dog": Minkyu Lee
  • "Fresh Guacamole": PES
  • "Head over Heels": Timothy Reckart and Fodhla Cronin O'Reilly
  • "Maggie Simpson in 'The Longest Daycare'"" David Silverman
  • "Paperman": John Kahrs

Best Short Film — Live Action

  • "Asad": Bryan Buckley and Mino Jarjoura
  • "Buzkashi Boys": Sam French and Ariel Nasr
  • "Curfew": Shawn Christensen
  • "Death of a Shadow (Dood van een Schaduw)": Tom Van Avermaet and Ellen De Waele
  • "Henry": Yan England

Best Sound Editing

  • "Argo": Erik Aadahl and Ethan Van der Ryn
  • "Django Unchained": Wylie Stateman
  • "Life of Pi": Eugene Gearty and Philip Stockton
  • "Skyfall": Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers
  • "Zero Dark Thirty": Paul N.J. Ottosson

Best Sound Mixing

  • "Argo": John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Jose Antonio Garcia
  • "Les Misérables": Andy Nelson, Mark Paterson and Simon Hayes
  • "Life of Pi": Ron Bartlett, D.M. Hemphill and Drew Kunin
  • "Lincoln": Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom and Ronald Judkins
  • "Skyfall": Scott Millan, Greg P. Russell and Stuart Wilson

Best Visual Effects

  • "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey": Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and R. Christopher White
  • "Life of Pi": Bill Westenhofer, Guillaume Rocheron, Erik-Jan De Boer and Donald R. Elliott
  • "Marvel's The Avengers": Janek Sirrs, Jeff White, Guy Williams and Dan Sudick
  • "Prometheus": Richard Stammers, Trevor Wood, Charley Henley and Martin Hill
  • "Snow White and the Huntsman": Cedric Nicolas-Troyan, Philip Brennan, Neil Corbould and Michael Dawson

Photo and information from

Photo courtesy of Red Bull

Red Bull Unlocked Nashville

Keep reading Show less
Photo courtesy of Rumble Boxing Gulch Nashville

Rumble Boxing Gulch, Nashville

Keep reading Show less

Post-Covid travel planning

Who would have thought that we would have to get through a pandemic in order to appreciate the small things we have, such as the ability to simply pack our bags and hit the road?

For two years, there’s been nothing left for us travel junkies to do but sit at home and try to find new destinations that we will conquer once we defeat what appears to be the biggest villain of the 21st century. But once that happens, hold your bags tight because we will be up for some of the most interesting travel experiences. Take a look at some ideas for your post-COVID traveling plans:

Keep reading Show less